Doulas

Doulas

Doulas can be a wonderful addition to labor but are not required. Literature states that doulas improve health outcomes and enhance the childbirth experience. It is important to find someone that resonates with your vision with and that perhaps has home birth experience. Doulas can range in price from several hundred to several thousand dollars and generally are not covered by health insurance. Sometimes they will provide sliding scale fees. Below is a list of doulas that we have worked with and recommend. At the bottom of the page are postpartum doulas, who are trained to work with families and newborns.

Here’s a brief guide on what their credentials mean.

CD: Certified Doula
CBC: Certified Breastfeeding Counselor
CLC: Certified Lactation Counselor
IBCLC: International Board Certified Lactation Counselor (Clinical breastfeeding degree, can diagnose more serious breastfeeding issues; CBC and CLC often refer out to an IBCLC if the issue is greater than their scope.)

Labor Support Doulas

Raychel Franzen, www.doularaychel.com, raychelfranzen@gmail.com

Kori Krysh, www.korikrysh.com, kori.krysh@gmail.com, 718-673-0931

Alaska McFadden, www.alaskamcfadden.com/doula, 347-415-9903

Linsey Boisvert, Birth Doula, Postpartum Doula, Herbal Consultant, Prenatal Yoga, Sound Bath Facilitator, linzmari@gmail.com

Yael Borensztein, CD, IBCLC, www.bornknowing.co, yael.borensztein@gmail.com

Megan Davidson, CD, CLC, www.brooklyndoula.com, brooklyndoula@gmail.com

Samantha Huggins, CD, CBC, www.carriagehousebirth.com, sm.huggins@gmail.com

Liza Maltz, CD, CLC: www.birthyourownway.com, liza@birthyourownway.com

Annette Perel, CD, CLC, www.clearbirth.nyc

Anna Raczka, Birth and Postpartum Doula, BC, sagebirthingservices@gmail.com

Lynette Ramos, Birth Doula, Prenatal Yoga, Yoni Steam Facilitator, radicalhealings@gmail.com

Alicia Suarez, CD, CBC, www.lalunaazulnyc.com, alicia@lalunaazulnyc.com

Katie Tabor, Birth Doula, Postpartum Doula, Reiki Practitioner, Yoga Instructor, www.katiedoulajoy.com

Haley Tanner, Birth Doula, haleytanner@gmail.com

If you are looking for a doula that better fits your budget, try a newer doula [tier 1] as they tend to have more flexible rates: www.carriagehousebirth.com

Postpartum Doulas

Please inquire individually regarding package rates. Postpartum doulas may offer a package, hourly or otherwise scheduled.

Ashley Brichter, ashley@overwhelmingmoments.com

Ruth Callahan, www.doulacare.com, 212-749-6613

Shoshana Cherson, www.lunardoula.com, 617-365-0142

Kesha King, adoulaslove@aol.com

Jennifer Lawlor-Nigro, riverwooddoula@gmail.com

Amber Star Merkens, www.mothertomotherpostpartum.com, 917-570-6185

Grace Veras Sealy, Nurturinggrace@gmail.com

 



Birth Photographers

Please inquire about package options.

Alena Benikovska, www.theabviewphotography.com, 917-355-5509

Katherine Marivelle, www.katherinemarivellephotography.com, k.marivelle.photography@gmail.com, 646-596-4213

Jacquelyn Tierney, www.jacquelyntierney.com